Yes: you can make granola in a toaster oven.

I put most things in the toaster oven: Walnuts at 325 F for 3 minutes for breakfast, salmon at 400 F for 10 minutes at midnight for the next day’s lunch.. and raw rounds of bread dough, once (it worked — you can bake bread in a toaster oven!).

Why not granola?

There are a lot of granola recipes out there and I am sure that almost every single one of them is delicious. But most of the time I find the ingredient list to be way too long and impractical (brown rice syrup? hemp seeds? oat bran?), so as part of today’s kitchen experiment I gathered together four of my favorite foods in the world and threw them ceremoniously.. into the toaster oven.

Yummy, easy granola

Oats (rolled, quick or a mix)
Honey
Peanut butter
Olive oil

I’m not sure about quantities, but start off with large handful of oats. I’m guessing around half a cup.

Mix in a small, separate microwave-safe bowl: Peanut butter (~ 2 tablespoons), Honey (1-2 tablespoons.. I don’t like sweet granola though so it’s probably safer to go with 2 for a more ‘normal’ sugar level), and a pinch of salt for good measure. Microwave 20-30 seconds, until the peanut butter has melted into the honey and the whole thing is gooey and delicious. You could spread this on toast and call it a day, but if not, stir in slightly less than a tablespoon of olive oil. This is your wet mix.

Now (as you can probably guess) spoon the wet mix over the oats and stir to combine. I used my fingers because that’s by far the best way, but you could go with a spoon.

Toasteroven the mixture, spread out onto foil or parchment, at 250 F for 15-20 minutes, shuffling the mixture every 5 minutes or so. Enjoy!

You could easily substitute the oats for other flaked grains (barley, rye, etc), the honey for agave or maple syrup, the PB for any other nut butter and the olive oil for canola/sunflower/melted butter. After cooling the granola I added in some chopped almonds and raisins, but it’s really up to you to jazz up your own, exactly how you like it.

